728x90 AdSpace

­Top Banner Advertisement


admin's picture

Geingob replaces eight governors, retains six

President Hage Geingob has made drastic changes to the composition of the regional governors by showing eight the door and retaining six from the current crop.
Geingob made the changes on Tuesday, according to a statement issued to the media by presidential spokesperson Alfredo Hengari.
Those whose tenure ended are Otjozondjupa governor Otto Ipinge, Oshikoto’s Henock Kankoshi, Erongo’s Cleophas Mutjavikua, Omaheke’s Festus Ueitele, Ohangwena’s Usko Nghaamwa, Hardap’s Esme Isaack, ||Kharas’ Lucia Basson and Kavango East’s Samuel Mbambo.
Geingob, who is empowered as Head of State to hire and fire regional governors through Article 32 of the Special Advisors and Governors Appointment Act, decided to stick with Kavango West Governor Sirkka Ausiku, Omusati’s Erginus Endjala, Oshana’s Elia Irimari and Laura McLeod-Katjirua of Khomas.
There were also no changes effected in Kunene and Zambezi, as both Marius Sheya and Lawrence Sampofu were kept in their respective portfolios.
The new faces include Gam-based Otjozondjupa Governor, James Uerikua, a director in the Office of the Vice President dealing with marginalised communities.
Others include Neville Andre for Erongo, Aletta Fredericks for ||Kharas, Salomon April for Hardap and Bonifatius Wakudumo for Kavango East.
Former Defence Minister, Penda ya Ndakolo has been reappointed into a position he previously held. He is now the new Oshikoto governor, a position in which he served between 2005 and 2015.
Ohangwena will be led by Walde Ndevashiya while Pijoo Nganate will take the reins in Omaheke.
Regional governors are expected to act as heads of a given region and report directly to the Head of State.
In essence, they are the link between central and regional government, local authorities and traditional leaders in their regions.
Apart from Sheya and Irimari, the current governors were appointed in 2015 by Geingob.
Sheya was appointed in 2017, following the death of the then governor, Kazetjindire Muharukua while Irimari replaced Clemens Kashuupulwa who was posted to Russia on an ambassadorial role.
The Special Advisors and Regional Representatives Appointment Act of 1990 was amended in 2011 to give the Head of State the mandate to appoint governors and determine their terms and conditions of employment.
Before then, regional governors were part of the regional council elected by fellow councillors.

  • Title: Geingob replaces eight governors, retains six
  • Posted by:
  • Date: 3:54 PM
  • Tags:
  • Comments


This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
2 + 1 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.